Grace

I have always been fascinated by the word. It’s meaning, implications and breadth; from faith to music to beauty it is so versatile. It is a five letter word with I must say that I became fascinated by this word several years ago. See, that is what I do; when I find a topic of interest, I relentlessly research and immerse myself. It almost becomes an obsession. As a matter of fact, if I was an actor, I would have to practice method acting. What better way to understand something than to experience it. Grace is something I aspire to. It is not a word that comes to mind when I try to describe myself. As a matter of fact I used to erroneously associate this word with weakness. Here are a few definitions of the word.

  • unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification
  • disposition to or an act or instance of kindness, courtesy, or clemency
  • a temporary exemption :  reprieve
  • a charming or attractive trait or characteristic
  • a pleasing appearance or effect :  charm
  • ease and suppleness of movement or bearing
  • used as a title of address or reference for a duke, a duchess, or an archbishop
  • a short prayer at a meal asking a blessing or giving thanks
  • a musical trill, turn, or appoggiatura
  • a sense of propriety or right
  • the quality or state of being considerate or thoughtful
  • a way of moving that is smooth and attractive and that is not stiff or awkward

    a controlled, polite, and pleasant way of behaving

    skills that are needed for behaving in a polite way in social situation

    Of all the above descriptions, my favorite is “unmerited divine assistance given humans for their regeneration or sanctification”. This always gets me, that fact that I did nothing to get God’s undying love and there is nothing that I could do to separate myself from his love.

    As I always say; I got Grace for my Past, Favor for my Present and Faith for my Future.

    All in all , GFF is a winning combination and has served me well in the past decades.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

